Recall Register

Hayward Industries Recalls Universal Pool Heaters Due to Risk of Serious Injury or Death from Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Hazard.

CPSC recall 26777. Recall date: .

Hazard, in the words of CPSC

During operation, the heaters can produce high levels of carbon monoxide (CO), posing a risk of serious injury or death from carbon monoxide poisoning.

Remedy, in the words of CPSC

Consumers should stop using the pool heater immediately and contact Hayward Industries to schedule a free in-home inspection and repair by a qualified technician.

CPSC recall 26777 has the recall date 17 Sep 2026. The notice names the firm Hayward Industries. The recall has about 4,600 units. The median CPSC recall of 2026 has 4,008 units. This register puts the recall under 2 hazards. The first is Poisoning. CPSC gives the product type Water Heaters, Not Specified.

Federal law prohibits any person from selling products subject to a Commission ordered recall or a voluntary recall undertaken in consultation with the CPSC.

CPSC publishes these words. Source: CPSC recall notices, section About the U.S. CPSC, read on . The hazard, the remedy and the incident text on this site are the words of the CPSC recall notice. Newest CPSC recall on the register: .

More of the notice

The hazard and the remedy are at the top of the page. Each quotation is the text of CPSC.

CPSC recall 26777: incidents, units, products and firms
Incidents and injuries
None reported.
Units4,600
Remedy optionsRepair
Description
This recall involves Hayward-branded HDFS400 Universal-HC Series pool heaters. The 400,000 BTU dual-fuel gas heaters are brown with black atop and measure 21 inches long, 28 inches wide and 31 inches high. The pool heaters have a digital display control panel at the top and a molded base with integrated tie-down connections. The heater's name plate is below the vent with the word "Hayward" appearing at the bottom of the name plate and the model number "HDFS400" appears at the top of the name plate.
Product400,000 BTU Universal-HC Series Pool Heaters, About 4,600, Water Heaters, Not Specified
Sold atSold At: Pool equipment distributors, builders and service professionals nationwide from March 2026 through July 2026 for about $5,600.
ManufacturerHayward Industries, Inc., of Charlotte, North Carolina
Made inUnited States

Recall notice: The page that CPSC publishes for one recall of a consumer product. It states the product, the hazard, the remedy and the incidents.

Hazard: The way a product can cause harm, in the words of the CPSC recall notice. This site also puts each recall under short hazard names.

Remedy: What the manufacturer or the firm does about a recalled product. The agency record states the remedy of each recall.

Units: The number of vehicles or products that a recall can include. The manufacturer or the firm reports the number to the agency.

The recall in context

Units in this recall
4,600Median of 2026: 4,008
CPSC recalls of 2026
459
Recalls of 2026 with one of the same hazards
25%
Recalls of 2026 in the category Water Heaters, Not Specified
0%
Recalls on the register that name Hayward Industries
2

Other recalls of the firm

Other CPSC recalls that name Hayward Industries
DateRecall
12 Jun 2019Hayward Industries Recalls Pool Heater Vent Kits Due to Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Hazard

Official channels

Cite this page

Recall Register. CPSC recall 26777. https://recallregister.com/product/10987-hayward-industries-recalls-universal-pool-heaters-due-to-risk-of-serio/. Source: CPSC Recall Retrieval Web Services. Data through .

Sources

Source
US Consumer Product Safety Commission
Licence
US government work, public domain
Data retrieved
30 Sep 2026
Newest CPSC recall on the register
24 Sep 2026

The CPSC notice is the authority. The hazard names come from the hazard text of CPSC. The category is the product type that CPSC gives. How the register is made. Report an error.

Questions

Does CPSC recall 26777 report injuries?
The CPSC notice says: None reported.
Where was the product sold?
The CPSC notice says: Sold At: Pool equipment distributors, builders and service professionals nationwide from March 2026 through July 2026 for about $5,600.
Which remedy options does CPSC list for recall 26777?
CPSC lists 1 remedy option: Repair
How many units are in CPSC recall 26777?
The CPSC notice gives this number: About 4,600